The FeelFree Company – Meets Brainchild Festival 2018

13 May

 

Brainchild is one of those small, more homegrown kinda festivals. Small in stature but big in heart. First off I would just like to thank all the Brainchild crew for having me along last summer, having not been back for a couple years due to festival clashes it was a brilliant experience to be a part of! You really can feel the heart and soul of this festival, from its crew, volunteers, performers, workshop leaders to the public that come along!

 

My most favourite thing about Brainchild is their resourcefulness, having very little money most of the epic bits of Brainchild are recycled, reused, salvaged, regenerated and up-cycled. Obviously being a massive up-cycler myself this is an area that is super important to me and my artistic practice. It’s something that a lot of the larger festivals could learn from. With their amazing green team, there is very little waste, what can be saved will be saved and where possible everything will be reused. They are creative in the pre-planning parts of the festival and even have recycling and resourcefulness as an important factor in their artistic open calls.

I had the pleasure of working alongside the Brainchild team on independent projects as well as group tasks. Leading up the fabrication of lilypad seating in the forest, this gave me an area where I could really put my up-cycling skills to the test, as well as collaborate with a carpenter to realise the festivals ideas. However, it wasn’t all independent work, I made some truly fantastic friends along the way, working with them to hang, build, drape and wack a posts or two!

As well as this I got to spend time on the site building all the arty elements that make up the colourful, visceral vibe to Brainchild. As well as their resourceful nature, what I mostly love about Brainchild is there team. Such kind spirited, warm heated workers constantly collaborate to bring together the vision for the festival. I have made friends that I have now connected with away from the field, as well as those I saw in many more fields over the rest of the season.

Being a platform for emerging artists I think the opportunities they provide to run workshops, install art and perform on stage (not to mention all the event and activities they run back in London) Brainchild are the ultimate kick starter project, done in all the right ways! So if you have never been before I definitely recommend looking it up. You won’t be disappointed 🙂

Here are just a few photos from some of the fantastic parts of the festival! Big up’s Brainchild, thank you for having me, testing my skills and welcoming me into your family ❤

 

Leave a comment